
R865.  Tax Commission, Auditing.
R865-9I.  Income Tax.
R865-9I-41.  Historic Preservation Tax Credits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 
59-10-1006.

(1) Definitions
(a) "Qualified rehabilitation expenditures" includes architectural, engineering, and 

permit fees.
(b) "Qualified rehabilitation expenditures" does not include movable furnishings.
(c) "Residential" as used in Section 59-10-1006 applies only to the use of the 

building after the project is completed.
(2) Taxpayers shall file an application for approval of all proposed rehabilitation 

work with the Division of State History prior to the completion of restoration or 
rehabilitation work on the project.  The application shall be on a form provided by the 
Division of State History.

(3) Rehabilitation work must receive a unique certification number from the State 
Historic Preservation Office in order to be eligible for the tax credit.

(4) In order to receive final certification and be issued a unique certification number 
for the project, the following conditions must be satisfied:

(a) The project approved under Subsection (2) must be completed.
(b) Upon completion of the project, taxpayers shall notify the State Historic 

Preservation Office and provide that office an opportunity to review, examine, and audit the 
project.  In order to be certified, a project shall be completed in accordance with the 
approved plan and the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation.

(c) Taxpayers restoring buildings not already listed on the National Register of 
Historic Places shall submit a complete National Register Nomination Form.  If the 
nomination meets National Register criteria, the State Historic Preservation Office shall 
approve the nomination.

(d) Projects must be completed, and the $10,000 expenditure threshold required by 
Section 59-10-1006 must be met, within 36 months of the approval received pursuant to 
Subsection (2).

(e) During the course of the project and for three years thereafter, all work done on 
the building shall comply with the Secretary of the Interior's standards for Rehabilitation.

(5) Upon issuing a certification number under Subsection (4), the State Historic 
Preservation Office shall provide the taxpayer an authorization form containing that 
certification number. 

(6) Credit amounts shall be applied against Utah individual income tax due in the tax 
year in which the project receives final certification under Subsection (4).

(7) Credit amounts greater than the amount of Utah individual income tax due in a 
tax year shall be carried forward to the extent provided by Section 59-10-1006.

(8) Carryforward historic preservation tax credits shall be applied against Utah 
individual income tax due before the application of any historic preservation credits earned 
in the current year and on a first-earned, first-used basis.

(9) Original records supporting the credit claimed must be maintained for three years 
following the date the return was filed claiming the credit.
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