R865. Tax Commission, Auditing.
R865-91. Income Tax.
R865-91-9. Taxable Year Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-10-122.

A. If a taxpayer's taxable year is changed to a taxable period of less than 12 months
as required by Utah Code Ann. Section 59-10-122 and if he is required to convert his
income for the period to an annual basis for federal income tax purposes, the taxpayer shall
convert his income for the period of less than a year to an annual basis for computing his
state income tax.

B. Unless the Tax Commission determines a different method consistent with
requirements of the act is necessary or appropriate, the income tax of the taxpayer for the
period of less than 12 months shall be computed as follows:

1. determine the state taxable income applicable to the fractional part of the year
and multiply this amount by 12;

2. divide the product by the number of months in the period to arrive at the state
taxable income on an annualized basis;

3. compute the tax applicable to the state taxable income as annualized;

4. divide the tax as computed on the annualized state taxable income by 12; and

5. multiply the result by the number of months in the period involved.
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