
R865.  Tax Commission, Auditing.
R865-6F.  Franchise Tax.
R865-6F-26.  Historic Preservation Tax Credits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 
59-7-609.

A.  Definitions:
1.  "Qualified rehabilitation expenditures" includes architectural, engineering, and 

permit fees.
2.  "Qualified rehabilitation expenditures" does not include movable furnishings.
3.  "Residential" as used in Section 59-7-609 applies only to the use of the building 

after the project is completed.
B.  Taxpayers shall file an application for approval of all proposed rehabilitation 

work  with  the  Division  of  State  History  prior  to  the  completion  of  restoration  or 
rehabilitation work on the project.  The application shall be on a form provided by the 
Division of State History.

C.  Rehabilitation work must receive a unique certification number from the State 
Historic Preservation Office in order to be eligible for the tax credit.

D.  In order to receive final certification and be issued a unique certification number 
for the project, the following conditions must be satisfied:

1.  The project approved under B. must be completed.
2.   Upon  completion  of  the  project,  taxpayers  shall  notify  the  State  Historic 

Preservation Office and provide that office an opportunity to review, examine, and audit the 
project.   In  order  to  be  certified,  a  project  shall  be completed  in  accordance  with  the 
approved plan and the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation.

3.   Taxpayers restoring buildings not already listed on the National Register of 
Historic  Places  shall  submit  a  complete  National  Register  Nomination  Form.   If  the 
nomination meets National Register criteria, the State Historic Preservation Office shall 
approve the nomination.

4.  Projects must be completed, and the $10,000 expenditure threshold required by 
Section 59-7-609 must be met, within 36 months of the approval received pursuant to B.

5.  During the course of the project and for three years thereafter, all work done on 
the building shall comply with the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation.

E.  Proof of State Historic Preservation Office certification shall be made by:
1.   receiving  an  authorization  form from the  State  Historic  Preservation  Office 

containing the certification number;
2.  attaching that authorization form to the tax return for the year in which the credit 

is claimed.
F.  Credit amounts shall be applied against Utah corporate franchise tax due in the 

tax year in which the project receives final certification under D.
G.  Credit amounts greater than the amount of Utah corporate franchise tax due in a 

tax year shall be carried forward to the extent provided by Section 59-7-609.
H.  Carryforward historic  preservation tax credits  shall  be applied against  Utah 

franchise tax due before the application of any historic preservation credits earned in the 
current year and on a first-earned, first-used basis.

I. Original  records  supporting  the  credit  claimed  must  be  maintained  for 
three years following the date the return was filed claiming the credit. 
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