
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration.
R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures.
R861-1A-22.  Petitions for Commencement of Adjudicative Proceedings Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-1-501, and 63G-4-201.

(1) Time for Petition.  Unless otherwise provided by Utah statute, petitions for 
adjudicative actions shall be filed within the time frames specified in R861-1A-20.  If the 
last day of the 30-day period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period shall 
run until the end of the next Tax Commission business day.

(2) Contents.  A petition for adjudicative action need not be in any particular form, 
but shall be in writing and, in addition to the requirements of 63G-4-201, shall contain the 
following:

(a) name and street address and, if available, a fax number or e-mail address of 
petitioner or the petitioner's representative;

(b) a telephone number where the petitioning party or that party's representative can 
be reached during regular business hours;

(c) petitioner's tax identification, social security number or other relevant 
identification number, such as real property parcel number or vehicle identification number;

(d) particular tax or issue involved, period of alleged liability, amount of tax in 
dispute, and, in the case of a property tax issue, the lien date;

(e) if the petition results from a letter or notice, the petition will include the date of 
the letter or notice and the originating division or officer; and

(f) in the case of property tax cases, the assessed value sought.
(3) Effect of Nonconformance.  The commission will not reject a petition because of 

nonconformance in form or content, but may require an amended or substitute petition 
meeting the requirements of this section when such defects are present.  An amended or 
substitute petition must be filed within 15 days after notice of the defect from the 
commission.

KEY:   developmentally  disabled,  grievance  procedures,  taxation,  disclosure 
requirements
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