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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 Petitioner (“Property Owner”) brings this appeal from the decision of the Salt Lake 

County Council Property Tax Administration (“County”) under Utah Code §59-2-1217 in which 

the County denied the Property Owner the homeowners circuit breaker tax relief for the 2015 tax 

year. This matter was argued before the Utah State Tax Commission in an Initial Hearing on 

April 12, 2016, in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-502.5.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

  The Counties are authorized to provide Circuit Breaker Property Tax Relief at Utah Code 

Sec. 59-2-1208 as follows: 

(1)(a) Subject to Subjections (2) and (4), for calendar years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2007, a claimant may claim a homeowner’s credit that does not 

exceed the following amounts . . . 

 

 The statute specifically defines “claimant” to be the following at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

1202(1)(a): 
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“Claimant” means a homeowner or renter who: (i) has filed a claim under this 

part; (ii) is domiciled in this state for the entire calendar year for which a claim 

for relief is filed under this part; and (iii) on or before December 31 of the year 

for which a claim for relief is filed under this part, is: (A) 65 years of age or older 

if the person was born on or before December 31, 1942; (B) 66 years of age or 

older if the person was born on or after January 1, 1943, but on or before 

December 31, 1959; or (C) 67 years of age or older if the person was born on or 

after January 1, 1960. 

 

The circuit breaker tax relief credit is based on “household income”.  “Household 

income” and “income” are defined at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1202(5)&(6) as follows: 

(5) “Household income” means all income received by all persons of a household 

in: (a) the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which property taxes are 

due . . . 

(6)(a) 

(i) “Income” means the sum of: (A) federal adjusted gross income as 

defined in Section 2, Internal Revenue Code; and (B) all nontaxable 

income as defined in Subsection (6)(b). 

(ii) “Income” does not include: (A) aid, assistance, or contributions from 

a tax-exempt nongovernmental source; (B) surplus foods; (C) relief in 

kind supplied by a public or private agency; or (D) relief provided under 

this part, Section 59-2-1108, or Section 59-2-1109. 

 

(b) For purposes of Subsection (6)(a)(i), “nontaxable income” means amounts 

excluded from adjusted gross income under the Internal Revenue Code, 

including:  

 

(i) capital gains; (ii) loss carry forwards claimed during the taxable year 

in which a claimant files for relief under this part,  Section 59-2-1108, or 

Section 59-2-1109; (iii) depreciation claimed pursuant to the Internal 

Revenue Code by a claimant on the residence for which the claimant 

files for relief under this part, Section 59-2-1108, or Section 59-2-1109; 

(iv) support money received; (v) nontaxable strike benefits; (vi) cash 

public assistance or relief; (vii) the gross amount of a pension or annuity, 

including benefits under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45 U.S.C. 

Sec. 231 et seq., and veterans disability pensions; (viii) payments 

received under the Social Security Act; (ix) state unemployment 

insurance amounts; (x) nontaxable interest received from any source; 

(xi)workers’ compensation; (xii) the gross amounts of “loss of time” 

insurance; and (xiii) voluntary contributions to a tax-deferred retirement 

plan.  

  

 A person has the right to appeal the denial of this credit under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1217 

as follows: 

 

Any person aggrieved by the denial in whole or in part of relief claimed 

under this part, except when the denial is based upon late filing of claim 

for relief, may appeal the denial to the commission by filing a petition 

within 30 days after the denial. 

 



Appeal No. 15-2092 

 

 3 

 

 

Utah Admin. Rule R865-9I-34(A) provides that it is the number of persons residing in the 

household as of January 1 that constitutes “household” for purposes of this tax relief as follows: 

“Household” is determined as follows: 1. For purposes of the homeowner’s credit 

under Section 59-2-1208, household shall be determined as of January 1 of the 

year in which the claim under that section is filed.   

 

DISCUSSION 

Property Owner had timely filed an application to Salt Lake County for the 2015 circuit 

breaker property tax relief for the tax assessment on the subject property.  The County denied the 

circuit breaker tax relief credit for the 2015 tax year because the Property Owner’s “household 

income” as defined by Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1202(5)&(6) exceeded the limit for the 2015 tax 

year.  In order to qualify for this property tax relief the “household income” limit was $$$$$.  For 

purposes of determining the 2015 tax relief credit, “Household income” is based on the 2014 

income and includes the income of every member in the household.  The County found that the 

Property Owner’s “Household income” under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1202(5)&(6) was $$$$$.  The 

County notes that the income was determined by considering the Property Owner’s income, his 

wife’s income and a small amount of declared income from their son who was a member of the 

household.    

Although the County had denied the circuit breaker property tax relief to the Property 

Owner, they did grant $$$$$ in hardship tax relief based on the fact that the Property Owner and 

his spouse had demonstrated some $$$$$ in out of pocket medical expenses.  The County did not 

provide the statutory code citation under which hardship relief had been allowed.  Utah law 

provides abatement for indigent person at Utah Code Secs. 59-2-1107 through 1109, but that is 

also limited to persons earning less than the maximum household income at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

1202.  The County Legislative Body does have discretion to make adjustments to the tax or defer 

tax under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1347 but the State Tax Commission does not have authority to 

review the County Legislative Body’s action under this section of the code.    

It was not disputed that the subject property is the residence in which the Property Owner 

resides with his wife who is joint owner of the property and their adult son. They did not dispute 

that their son resided with them. The Property Owner is over the age of 66; he stated that he was 

84 at the hearing. They did not argue that they had earned less than $$$$$ in household income. 

Their argument for this tax relief credit at the hearing was based on financial hardship.  The 

Property Owner and his wife stated that they were living on fixed income, had numerous medical 
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expenses due to a number of medical issues and they simply could not afford to pay the tax.   

REPRESENTATIVE FOR TAXPAYER explained that as a result of her numerous medical 

conditions she has been unable to eat solid foods and the special foods that she could eat were 

expensive.  Further, her condition made her constantly cold and she had to have the heat in the 

house turned up much higher than was economically practical.  Their son had a different 

condition that had caused him so much weight loss that he also needed more heat.  The Property 

Owner explained that due to this, they have been unable to pay off of their gas and electric bills 

and he is planning on going to talk to those two companies about their financial hardship issues.   

At the hearing they presented copies of various medical billings and pharmacy billings 

occurring in 2014, as well as a COMPANY property assessment. Totaled these amounts were less 

than $$$$$ in out of pocket medical expenses, which was the amount they had provided to the 

County and for which the County had based the hardship tax relief.
1
 The County’s representative 

stated that she would take a look at these and see if any of these amounts were not already 

included in the County’s hardship tax relief calculation. 

After reviewing the information provided at the hearing and the applicable law, the 

County was correct that the Property Owner did not qualify for the circuit breaker tax relief as the 

“household income” was too high to qualify for the 2015 tax year under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

1209. Although the Property Owner had the right to appeal the County’s decision to deny the 

circuit breaker tax relief to the Utah State Tax Commission under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1217, the 

Utah State Tax Commission must still follow the same law in determining whether or not the 

Property Owner qualified for this tax relief.  The Tax Commission does not have authority to 

review a hardship adjustment made by the County Legislative Body under Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

1347.   

 

   Jane Phan 

   Administrative Law Judge 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing, the Commission denies the Property Owner’s appeal of the 

County’s decision to deny circuit breaker tax relief for the 2015 tax year. It is so ordered.    

                                                 
1
 The Property Owner had not delivered a copy of this evidence to the County ten business days prior to the 

hearing.  The Notice of Initial Hearing had instructed the parties of this requirement. Therefore, the County 

did not have the chance to review this information prior to the hearing and compare it with what had 

already been submitted to the County and included in the $$$$$ in out of pocket medical expenses 

considered in the hardship relief.  
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This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision 

and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this 

case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a 

Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed, or emailed, to the address listed below and must 

include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 

Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

or emailed to: 

taxappeals@utah.gov 

 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

  

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2016. 
 

 

 

John L. Valentine  Michael J. Cragun 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 

 

 

Robert P. Pero   Rebecca L. Rockwell  

Commissioner      Commissioner    
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