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 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

A Telephonic Status Conference had been held in this appeal on January 27, 2015.  At the 

Conference REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, was present by telephone for the Petitioner 

(“Property Owner”) and for Respondent (“Division”) REPRESENTATIVE FOR RESPONDENT, 

Assistant Attorney General, and RESPONDENT.  The Division indicated at the Conference that it 

intended to file a Motion to Dismiss the appeal on the basis that the appeal had not been timely filed.  The 

representative for the Property Owner was given thirty-days from the date that the Motion to Dismiss was 

filed to submit a Response to Motion and the parties were instructed that the decision on Motion would be 

made based on the written submissions of the parties. On January 30, 2015, the Division filed its Motion 

to Dismiss.  No Response to the Motion was received from the Property Owner.     

APPLICABLE LAW 

 Utah Code §59-2-207 provides that the owner of a mining property is required to file a statement 

regarding the property, as well as provides for the assessment of a penalty if the statement is not filed as 

follows in pertinent part: 

(1)(a) A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property 

described in Subsection (1)(b) shall file with the commission, or a from prescribed by 

the commission, a sworn statement on or before March 1 of each year . . . 

 

(3)(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a 

penalty as provided Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer of agent of that 

person fails to file: (i) the statement required under Subjection (1)(a) on or before the 
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later of: (A) March 1; or (B) if the commission allows an extension under Subsection 

(1)(c) for filing the statement, the day after the last day of the extension period; . . .  

 

(5) A person subject to a penalty under Subsection (3) may appeal the penalty 

according to the procedures and requirements of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative 

Procedures Act. 

 

 

 

The Administrative Procedures Act provides that the agency may set the deadline for filing an 

appeal, at Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-201(4) as follows: 

When initial agency determinations or actions are not governed by this chapter, but 

agency and judicial review of those initial determinations or actions are subject to the 

provisions of this chapter, the request for agency action seeking review must be filed 

with the agency within the time prescribed by the agency’s rules.  

 

The Utah State Tax Commission has set by rule the deadline for filing under Utah Admin. Rule 

R861-1A-20, as follows in pertinent part: 

(2)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a petition for redetermination must be received   

       in the commission offices no later than 30 days from the date of a notice that creates  

       the right to appeal.  The petition is deemed to be timely if: 

(a) in the case of mailed or hand-delivered documents: 

(i) the petition is received in the commission offices on or before 

the close of business of the last day of the 30-day period; or 

(ii) the date of the postmark on the envelope or cover indicates that 

the request was mailed on or before the last day of the 30-day 

period; or 

(b) in the case of electronically-filed documents, the petition is received 

no later than midnight of the last day of the 30-day period. 

 

Further guidance on the filing deadline is provided in Rule R861-1A-22 of the Utah 

Administrative Rules, as follows in relevant part: 

(1) Time for Petition. Unless otherwise provided by Utah statute, petitions for 

adjudicative actions shall be filed within the time frames specified in R861-1A-20.  If 

the last day of the 30-day period falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 

period shall run until the end of the next Tax Commission business day. 

 

DISCUSSION 

The Division issued the Notice of Penalty to the Taxpayer on April 29, 2013.  The notice explains 

the appeals procedures, and instructs the Taxpayer that if they disagree with the audit, they must file a 

petition “on or before the later of June 1, 2013 or within 30 days of the date of this mailing.”  It does 
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provide an address and further instructions for filing an appeal. The Division maintains that the 

Taxpayer’s appeal was not received by the Commission until September 4, 2014.  The Division’s 

representative asked the Commission dismiss the Taxpayer’s appeal because it was not received within 

the 30 day time period.     

The Taxpayer did not submit a Response to the Motion.  

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is set by statute and rule. It is a jurisdictional 

requirement.  The Notice of Penalty was issued by the Division on April 29, 2013.  The Taxpayer’s 

Petition for Redetermination was received by the Commission on September 4, 2014, significantly 

beyond the 30-day deadline provided in Utah Code §63G-4-201(4) and Utah Administrative Code R861-

1A-20. This language is not discretionary, and the appeal should be dismissed absent evidence that 

actions on the party of the Property Tax Division interfered with Taxpayer’s due process rights.  In this 

case, there is no information from the Property Owner to indicate such interference.    

 

Jane Phan 

Administrative Law Judge 

 

ORDER 

The thirty-day requirement for filing an appeal is set by statute and rule and is a jurisdictional 

requirement.  Because the Taxpayer did not file an appeal within the thirty days period, the Commission 

hereby dismisses the Taxpayer’s appeal.  It is so ordered.   

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2015. 
 

 

 

John L. Valentine  D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 

Commission Chair  Commissioner 
 

 

 

Michael J. Cragun  Robert P. Pero 

Commissioner      Commissioner   
 

 

Notice of Appeal Rights: If you disagree with this order you have twenty (20) days after the date of this 

order to file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission in accordance with Utah Code Ann. 

§63G-4-302. If you do not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes 

final agency action. You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this 

order in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-601 et seq. and §63G-4-401 et seq.   
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