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TAX TYPE: TOBACCO

TAX YEAR: 2012 AND 2013

DATE SIGNED: 1-21-2015

COMMISSIONERS: J. VALENTINE, D. DIXON, M. CRAGUN, R. PERO

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

TAXPAYER,
INITIAL HEARING ORDER
Petitioner,
Appeal No. 14-1325
VS.
Account No. #####

TAXPAYER SERVICES DIVISION OF THE Tax Type:  Tobacco

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, Tax Year: 2012 and 2013
Respondent. Judge: Marshall
Presiding:

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge

Appearances:
For Petitioner: REPRESENTATIVE FOR TAXPAYER, Representative
For Respondent: RESPONDENT-1, Taxpayer Services Division
RESPONDENT-2, Taxpayer Services Division
RESPONDENT-3, Taxpayer Services Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on October 23, 2014 for an

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5. Taxpayer is requesting a waiver

of the following penalties:

Period Tax Type Penalty Type | Penalty
Amount

April 2012 Tobacco Stamp Late Payment | $$$$$

June 2012 Tobacco Tax Late Filing $35$$

Late Payment | $$$$$
Tobacco Stamp Late Payment | $$$$$
September 2012 | Tobacco Stamp Late Payment | $3$$$
December 2012 | Tobacco Tax Late Filing $5$$$
Late Payment | $$$$$
Tobacco Stamp Late Payment | $$$$$
March 2013 Tobacco Tax Late Filing $EE$P
Late Payment | $$$$$
Tobacco Stamp Late Payment | $$$$$
June 2013 Tobacco Tax Late Filing $5$$$
Late Payment | $$$$$
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Tobacco Stamp Late Payment | $$$$$

September 2013 | Tobacco Tax Late Filing $33$$
Late Payment | $$$$$

October 2013 Tobacco Tax Late Payment | $$$$$

As of the hearing date, the penalties totaled $$$$$, and all balances had been paid.
APPLICABLE LAW
A tax is imposed on the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes in Utah under Utah
Code Ann. §859-14-204 as follows:

(1) Except for cigarettes described under Subsection 59-14-210(3), there is
levied a tax upon the sale, use, storage, or distribution of cigarettes in the
state...

(3) The tax levied under Subsection (1) shall be paid by any person who is the
manufacturer, jobber, distributor, wholesaler, retailer, user, or consumer.

The assessment of the cigarette tax is further explained in Rule R865-20T-1, as follows:

A. The cigarette tax is a tax on the first purchase, use, storage, or consumption
of cigarettes by a manufacturer, jobber, wholesaler, distributor, retailer, user,
or consumer within the state.

B. If cigarettes are purchased outside the state for use, storage, or consumption
within the state, the tax must be paid by the user, storer, or consumer.

Sales tax is imposed on certain transactions under Utah Code Ann. 8§59-12-103, as

follows in relevant part:

(1) A tax is imposed on the purchaser as provided in this part for amounts paid
or charged for the following transactions:
() amounts paid or charged for tangible personal property if within
this state
the tangible personal property is:
(i) stored,;
(i)  used; or
(iii) consumed

Individuals are required to pay a use tax under certain circumstances, as set forth in Utah
Code Ann. 859-12-107(1), below in relevant part:

(d) A person shall pay a use tax imposed by this chapter on a transaction
described in Subsection 59-12-103(1) if:
(i) the seller did not collect a tax imposed by this chapter on the
transaction; and
(ii) the person
(A) stores the tangible personal property or product transferred
electronically in the state;
(B) uses the tangible personal property or product transferred
electronically in the state; or
(C) consumes the tangible personal property or product transferred
electronically in the state.
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Utah Code Ann. §859-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission,

the burden of proof is on the petitioner...”
DISCUSSION

The Taxpayer’s representative stated that they have been in business since 1975, and had
not been out of compliance until 2011. He explained that there was a tax increase in July of 2010
from $$$3$$ to $$$$$ per ounce. He stated that they had failed to increase their (X) line to account
for the increase. Their bookkeeper figured out the problem in April 2012, and they immediately
corrected it. He explained that they knew their costs were way off, and the bookkeeper broke out
every product to find the error.

The Taxpayer’s representative stated he was unaware that he could file and pay the
periods as they came due, and work on the prior periods until NAME recently explained that to
him. He stated that they had been told that after so many days the cigarette stamp tax amount due
would go to their bond, and they were trying to avoid that.

The Division’s representative stated that when they received the Taxpayer’s refund
request, she spoke with NAME. She proffered that NAME indicated that the Taxpayer’s returns
were not being filed timely, and would get to the point of action being taken on the return before
the Taxpayer would file. She noted also that the Taxpayer was aware of the increase in tax, but a
mistake was made by the Taxpayer in their price increase on the product.

The Division’s representative explained that the tobacco tax return is due quarterly, and
the stamps are due as they are requested. She stated that a request for stamps is made, and the
Taxpayer has 60 days to pay, if they are getting up to 90% of their bond amount. She noted that
the Taxpayer has not purchased stamps in a year. The Division’s representative stated that there
were prior penalties on the tobacco tax filing, and continued to be errors on the tobacco tax filing
after the periods at issue. She stated that the Division did not find reasonable cause to waive the
penalties, and noted that because of the dollar amount involved, the issue was presented to the
Commission with a recommendation to deny, and the Commission made the determination to
deny the request.

The Commission has promulgated Administrative Rule R861-1A-42 and Publication 17
to outline the circumstances the Commission may consider “reasonable cause” justifying a waiver
of penalties. The Taxpayer has not set forth any of the circumstances that are considered to be
reasonable cause. The error was caused by an error on the part of the Taxpayer. The Taxpayer

had previous errors on the filing of their tobacco tax returns. However, there was no indication
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that they had had prior errors in the payment of the tobacco stamp tax. The tobacco stamp tax late

payment penalty assessed for the April 2012 period should be waived as a first-time error.

Jan Marshall, Administrative Law Judge

DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Commission waives the penalty assessed on the tobacco

stamp tax for the April 2012 period, and denies the Taxpayer’s request for a waiver of penalties
for the remaining periods.

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing. However, this Decision
and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this
case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a
Formal Hearing. Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the
Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number:

Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2015.
John L. Valentine D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Payment Requirement: Any balance due as a result of this order must be paid
within thirty (30) days of the date of this order, or a late payment penalty could be applied.



