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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 5, 2014, Petitioner (the Property Owner) filed with the Utah State Tax Commission a
Request to Reconvene the Board of Equalization (on a Form TC-194A), asking the State Tax
Commission to order the Utah County Board of Equalization to reconvene to hear an appeal regarding the
above listed parcels. The Property Owner had listed on the form that the tax year at issue was 2014,
However, it appears that the Property Owner’s contention was the County’s removal of the subject parcels
from Greenbelt valuation under the Farmland Assessment Act. The County Assessor had removed these
two parcels from Greenbelt and sent the Final Notice on November 13, 2013. As noted on the Final
Notice, the Property Owner had 45 days from the date of the notice to file an appeal. The Property Owner
did not appeal the removal from Greenbelt during the 45 day period and now requests that the Tax
Commission reconvene the County Board to hear their appeal. The County filed a response to the
Property Owner’s request on May 12, 2014.

APPLICABLE LAW
Utah Code Ann. 859-2-103 provides for the assessment of property, as follows:

Q) All tangible taxable property located within the state shall be assessed and taxed
at a uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, as valued on January 1,
unless otherwise provided by law.

The deadline to file an appeal of the decision of a County Assessor to remove a property from
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Greenbelt is set out at Utah Code Sec. 59-2-506(10) as follows:

(10)(a) Subject to Subsection (10)(b), an owner of land may appeal to the county board of
equalization: (i) a decision by a county assessor to withdraw land from assessment under
this part; or (ii) the imposition of a rollback tax under this section. (b) An owner shall file
an appeal under Subsection (10)(a) no later than 45 days after the day on which the
county assessor mails the notice required by Subsection (5).

A property owner who is dissatisfied with the County Board of Equalization’s decision may
appeal that decision to the Utah State Tax Commission pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-2-1006(1) which
provides:

Any person dissatisfied with the decision of the county board of equation concerning the
assessment and equalization of any property, or the determination of any exemption in
which the person has an interest, may appeal that decision to the commission by filing a
notice of appeal specifying the grounds for the appeal with the county auditor within 30
days after the final action of the county board.

DISCUSSION
In the Request, the Property Owner states six reasons for not filing an appeal within the filing
deadline. The Property Owner does not provide detail regarding any of these assertions like the dates of
the phone call or who was called. The Property Owner’s stated reasons are the follow:

1. Documents and evidence needed for the proper tax assessment were not available
to BUSINESS in a time frame desired by tax assessment entities.

2. Prior to the deadline a call was made by NAME for an extension based
availability of key facts and appropriate records.

3. Tax authorities asked if NAME was farming the land. NAME responded
appropriately that she was not farming land and needed more time to get the accurate
documents to verify the historic and present land use.

4, The tax authority erroneously advised NAME if she was not farming her
extension was denied. This comment was false because a land owner is not required to
directly push a plow or feed the cattle for the land to remain in green belt. The property is
being farmed and used for agricultural purposes by third parties. NAME comments were
accurate. She was not farming and needed time to bring additional documents. The tax
authority denied due process by refusing time to gather records unavailable to the owner
at the time.

5. Persons responsible for production of documents were unable to produce
documents due to travel schedules and scheduling conflicts with document holders.

6. Documents were difficult to gather due to complex ownership structure and
change of ownership.

Attached to the request was an unsigned and undated copy of a Federal Income Tax Return for an
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S Corp. The S Corp was a different name from the current Property Owner, or the prior owner of the
property which was BUSINESS. No explanation was provided as to the relevance of this return or if any
or all of the income reported on this return was derived from a farming or ranching use of the subject
parcels of property.

In the County’s response, the County’s representative states that it had properly notified the
owner of record of the removal from Greenbelt and that the Property Owner had failed to file a 2013
appeal on Greenbelt before the deadline. The County provided copies of the Final Notice for each parcel
addressed to BUSINESS, which was the owner of record at the time these were issued on November 13,
2013. The County provided a copy of the Quit Claim Deed, recorded on November 21, 2013, which
showed a change of ownership from BUSINESS. to the current Property Owner. However, it appears both
BUSINESS and the Property Owner had the same address. The County also provided the Greenbelt
Summary Information off of the County’s account history for this parcel. This indicated that the County
had sent out applications and requests for proof of production in 2009, again on May 18, 2011 and again
on October 14, 2013. It does not show any response to these, other than a telephone call from the
Property Owner on November 13, 2013. There are notes on the County’s account history of the telephone
call, which state:

Owner called and asked about the application she had received. | explained the

application process and requirements for proof of agricultural production. The owner said

that the land has no production and is just sitting vacant. | explained to her that the

property would not qualify unless there was agricultural use. | created a rollback estimate

worksheet and gave her the numbers and told her that there would be a rollback bill.

Based on the law and information provided by the parties there is no basis to grant the Property
Owner’s request. The TC-194A form filed by the Property Owner is the Request to Reconvene the Board
of Equalization form under Utah Administrative Rule R884-24P-66. However, Utah Administrative Rule
R884-24P-66 applies to valuation and equalization appeals filed pursuant to Utah Code Section 59-2-
1004. Under Section 59-2-1004 a property owner may file an appeal of the valuation or equalization of
the property to the County Board of Equalization by the statutorily set deadline, which is generally
September 15, of the tax year at issue. That statutory section authorized the adoption of an Administrative
Rule to provide circumstances under which the County Board of Equalization may accept late filed
valuation or equalization appeals. Utah Administrative Rule R884-24P-66 establishes the circumstances

under which a Board of Equalization may accept a late valuation or equalization appeal under Utah Code
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Sec. 59-2-1004. However, this is not applicable to the Property Owner’s failure to timely file an appeal of
the County’s withdrawal of the property from Greenbelt, as that appeal is not under Section 59-2-1004,
but instead under 59-2-506." Under Utah Code 59-2-506 there is an express deadline to appeal the
removal of the property from Greenbelt and that is 45 days from the date of the Final Notice. There are
no provisions that would allow for an extension of this deadline for any reason. In fact, the County
Assessor would not have the authority to authorize an extension of this deadline after the Final Notice had
been mailed.

The mere assertion that the Property Owner had called and been given erroneous information
over the telephone, without evidence or detail including the date and to whom she had spoken with is not
basis to allow a late filed appeal under Utah Code 59-2-506. Neither is the inability to obtain documents.
In this case the County does have record of one telephone call from the Property Owner and that call had
occurred in response to the County sending out the Application and proof of production, before the Final
Notice had been mailed. The Final Notice stated that if the Property Owner “wished to appeal the
imposition of the rollback tax” it had 45 days from the date of the notice.

Under Utah Code §59-2-103 all real property located within the state is assessed and taxed at a
uniform and equal rate on the basis of its fair market value, unless it qualifies for an exemption or other
type of assessment as provided by law. The Farmland Assessment Act does allow for an alternative
assessment for property used for agricultural, but only if the criteria set out in that act are fully complied
with. This includes both production requirements, application requirements and deadlines set out in that
act. Regardless of whether there had been production on this property or failure to comply with
application requirements, the Property Owner failed to meet the deadline to appeal the County’s removal

of this property from Greenbelt.

1 Rule R884-24P-66 is not applicable to set aside the deadline for filing a late appeal of the County Assessor’s
withdrawal from Greenbelt. However, even if it was applied in this matter, it provides only a limited extension until
March 31 of the year following the tax year at issue. See R884-24P-66(15). So for the tax year 2013, if it were
found that there were circumstances under the rule, like factual error or extraordinary or unanticipated
circumstances, a request filed prior to March 31, 2013, would be allowed. There is nothing under that rule that
would allow a 2013 appeal filed after March 31, 2013.
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based on the foregoing, the Property Owner's Request to Reconvene the Board of Equalization to

hear the late-filed appeal is denied. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2014,
R. Bruce Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights: You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-302. A
Request for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If you do
not file a Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action.
You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance
with Utah Code Secs. 59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq.



