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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

 

 This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission on  September 24, 2012 for an 

Initial Hearing in accordance with Utah Code §59-1-502.5.  Petitioner (“Applicant”) is appealing 

the 60 day suspension of his motor vehicle dealer license and no fee owner license.    

APPLICABLE LAW 

 The denial, suspension, and revocation of a motor vehicle dealer license are governed by 

Utah Code §41-3-209(2), as follows in relevant part: 

(b) If the administrator finds that there is reasonable cause to deny, suspend, or 

revoke a license under this chapter, the administrator shall deny, suspend, or 

revoke the license. 

(c) Reasonable cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license includes, 

in relation to the applicant or license holder or any of its partners, officers, or 

directors: 

(vi) making a false statement on any application of a license under this 

chapter or for special license plates; 

(vii) a violation of any state or federal law involving motor vehicles; 

(viii) a violation of any state or federal law involving controlled substances; 
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(ix) charges filed with any county attorney, district attorney, or U.S. attorney 

in any court of competent jurisdiction for a violation of any state or 

federal law involving motor vehicles; 

(x) a violation of any state or federal law involving fraud;  or 

(xi) a violation of any state or federal law involving a registerable sex offense 

under Section 77-27-21.5; or 

(xii) having had a license issued under this chapter revoked within five 

years from the date of application. 

 

DISCUSSION 

 The Applicant submitted a Bonded Motor Vehicle Business Application to the 

Respondent (“Division”) on May 10, 2012.  Question 2, on page three of the application asks 

each owner if they have “been charged with, found in violation of, or convicted of any 

misdemeanors or felonies in Utah or any other state,” in the past ten years.  In response, the 

Applicant checked the box indicating NO. There was space provided for each owner to 

individually list any charge, violation or conviction and none was listed for any owner.    

 When the application is filed the Division obtains fingerprints and sends them to the 

Bureau of Criminal Identification which provides a Criminal History Record on the applicants. 

When that report came back, it indicated one criminal incident on the Applicant’s record. This 

was shown as having an arrest date of August 12, 2000 and the charges being Forgery: Warrant, 

Felony-Third Degree.  The record then showed a disposition date of October 4, 2005, on which it 

listed that the Applicant had been convicted of Class A–Misdemeanor Forgery and had been 

sentenced to 5 years probation.  There was only the single criminal incident listed on the report. 

Upon receipt of this report from BCI, the Division issued an order suspending the Applicant's 

license for a period of 60 days and the reason given was failure to disclose information requested 

in the Application form. The Division issued the suspension by letter dated August 9, 2012.  

According to the letter from the Division, the suspension period was to be from September 8, 

2012 to November 7, 2012, but if the Applicant filed an appeal, the license would remain in effect 

until after the hearing and decision from the Tax Commission.   

It was the Division’s position that when the information came back from the BCI, the 

Division was required to suspend the license under Utah Code §41-3-209. The Division noted 

that making a false statement on any application of a license would be basis for suspension or 

denial under that statute. Additionally, crimes involving fraud would be basis for denial or 

suspension and it was the Division’s position that a forgery conviction was a crime involving 

fraud.  

The Applicant apologized about not disclosing the criminal incident on the application 

form. He explained that at the time he filled out the form he thought that the conviction had been 
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expunged. He also stated that this stemmed from an incident in 1997 when he had signed his 

name on his buddy’s hunting license.  He indicates he was not aware of any charges until 2000 

when he was pulled over for speeding and he learned at that time that a warrant for his arrest had 

been issued.  It was his contention that he had gone to court on the charge in 2000 and that he 

thought that he had been convicted then because he recalled pleading to something, and being 

sentenced to 5 years probation. He also lost any hunting privileges during this time. He indicated 

that at some point he had gone back to court.  He was not sure on what the terminology meant, 

but he was thinking that he had gone to court to have the conviction expunged.  However, at the 

hearing he acknowledged that it might have been that the charge was reduced rather than 

expunged.  

The Division had no other information on the conviction than what had been indicated in 

the BCI report.  

Utah Code §41-3-209(2) mandates that a license “shall” be denied, revoked, or suspended 

for reasonable cause, and has identified as “reasonable cause” making a false statement on an 

application form as well as violations of the law involving fraud. Between the Applicant’s 

recollection and the BCI report the actual events are unclear. The Applicant states that the crime 

occurred in 1997, the conviction in 2000 and then sometime later he had the charges reduced. The 

BCI shows an arrest date in 2000 and a disposition date in 2005 with 5 years probation. Either 

way, the Applicant would no longer have been on probation when he applied for the Dealer 

License in 2012.  Additionally, the BCI Report also supports the contention that the actual crime 

occurred and the Applicant had been charged with the crime more than ten years prior to the date 

the Applicant signed the application form, as the Applicant must have been charged with the 

crime in 2000 or prior.   

Based on the fact that the crime had been committed and charged more than ten years 

prior to the date he filled out the application, and that there was only the single criminal incident 

on the Applicant’s record, the suspension should be abated. A conviction entered in 2005 should 

have been disclosed on the Application form submitted May 10, 2012, which asks for charges, 

violations or conviction in the past ten years. However, in this case with only the single criminal 

incident, the 2005 disposition date must relate to a crime and charges which occurred more than 

ten years ago.  It is possible that this disposition date had been the date the Applicant had gone 

back to court to have the original charge reduced.  It would not be unreasonable for the Applicant 

to consider it unnecessary to include an incident occurring in 2000 or prior in answer to a 

question about charges or convictions occurring in the last ten years.      
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 _________________________ 

 Jane Phan 

 Administrative Law Judge 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 Based on the foregoing the Commission abates the 60 day suspension issued against the 

Applicant’s dealer license and orders the Division to reinstate the license. It is so ordered.   

 This decision does not limit a party’s right to a Formal Hearing.  If either party requests a 

Formal Hearing this decision and order is stayed until the Commission issues its formal decision. 

However, this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission 

unless either party to this case files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this 

decision to proceed to a formal decision.  Such request shall be mailed to the address listed below 

and must include the Petitioner’s name, address, and appeal number: 

Utah State Tax Commission 

Appeals Division 

210 North 1950 West 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84134 

 

 Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter.   

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2012. 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson   Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair   Commissioner 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 

Commissioner    Commissioner 
 

 

 

 

 


