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GUIDING DECISION

BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION

PETITIONER, FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS
. OF LAW, AND FINAL DECISION
Petitioner,
v Appeal No.  11-3086

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION OF THE Tax Type: DUI Administrative Impound Fee

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION,

Judge: Chapman
Respondent.
Presiding:
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli, Commissioner
Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge
Appearances:
For Petitioner:  REPRESENTATIVE FOR PETITIONER, Taxpayer’s Representative (by

telephone)

For Respondent: REPRESENTATIVE FOR RESPONDENT, Assistant Attorney General
RESPONDENT-1, from the Driver License Division
RESPONDENT-2, from the Motor Vehicle Division

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for a Formal Hearing on April 22, 2013 and
on August 5, 2013. Between the two hearing dates, the Commission asked the Division to respond to written
questions to clarify the issues discussed at the portion of the hearing held on April 22, 2013. On May 24,
2013, the Division submitted its answers to these questions. The Petitioner did not submit a written response
to the Division’s answers to these questions. Based upon the evidence and testimony presented by the parties,

the Tax Commission hereby makes its:
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FINDINGS OF FACT

1. At issue is the request of PETITIONER (“Petitioner”) to the Division of Motor Vehicles
(“Respondent” or the “DMV”) to receive a refund of the $330 DUI administrative impound fee that he paid in
order to have his vehicle released from impound.

2. On November 16, 2011, the DMV issued a Statutory Notice —Refund Request to
PETITIONER, in which it denied his request to receive a refund of the $330 fee. Respondent’s Exhibit R-1.

3. PETITIONER appealed the DMV’s denial of his refund request. The Commission issued an
Initial Hearing Order in this matter on July 11, 2012. On August 8, 2012, the Division timely requested to
proceed to a Formal Hearing.

4. On May 1, 2011, the Petitioner’s vehicle was impounded pursuant to a traffic stop during
which the Petitioner was arrested for driving under the influence. The Petitioner retrieved his vehicle from
impound after paying a $330 administrative impound fee.

5. Because of the arrest for driving under the influence, the Petitioner was subject to both a civil
administrative proceeding and a criminal proceeding. In accordance with Utah Code Ann. §53-3-223(6)(c),
the Driver License Division of the Utah Department of Public Safety (“DLD”) held a civil administrative
hearing to determine whether a peace officer had reasonable grounds to believe that the Petitioner was driving
under the influence.

6. On May 25, 2011, the DLD issued a letter in which it informed the Petitioner that a DLD
hearing officer concluded that an officer had reasonable grounds to believe that he was driving under the
influence and, as a result, that his driver license was suspended for 120 days beginning on May 31, 2011, in
accordance with Section 53-3-223(7)(a). Respondent’s Exhibit R-4. The letter also included the phrase:

“Eligible to early reinstate 7/30/2011.” In addition, the Petitioner was informed that when he became eligible
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to reinstate his driving privilege, he would be subject to the payment of a $$$$$ reinstatement fee, a $$$$$
administrative fee, and other fees that may apply.

7. The May 25, 2011 letter from DLD informed the Petitioner that he could request
reconsideration of the evidence presented at the administrative hearing and that, if this request were denied, he
could appeal to District Court. It does not appear that the Petitioner either asked for reconsideration of the
DLD administrative decision or appealed the decision to District Court.

8. The Petitioner was also subject to a separate criminal proceeding before the (X) County Justice
Court. OnJune 14, 2011, PETITIONER pleaded guilty to a class B misdemeanor for impaired driving under
UCA 841-6a-502.5 and was placed on probation for 12 months. One of the conditions of probation was that
the Petitioner was not to possess or consume any alcoholic beverages or illegal controlled substances.

9. The (X) County Justice Court subsequently delivered the outcome of the criminal proceeding
to DLD electronically through CORS, the courts reporting system. See Attachment to Division’s Response to
Commission Questions and Brief. It would appear that DLD received this information prior to issuing its July
21, 2011 letter to the Petitioner (as described in the next paragraph).

10. On July 21, 2011, DLD sent a letter to the Petitioner, in which it informed him that “[a]s a
result of a court conviction or abeyance for alcohol/drug-related reckless driving or impaired driving in a motor
vehicle. . ., an alcohol restriction must be placed on your driving privilege. . . .” The letter also informed the
Petitioner that the alcohol restriction is effective June 14, 2011 for two years. Respondent’s Exhibit R-3.

11. Because the Petitioner pleaded guilty to impaired driving in the criminal proceeding before the
(X) County Justice Court, DLD was required to reinstate the Petitioner’s suspended driver license “no sooner
than 60 days beginning on the 30" date after the date of arrest.” UCA §53-3-223(7)(c)(i)(B). The 30" day

after the Petitioner’s May 1, 2011 arrest is May 31, 2011. Sixty days from May 31, 2011 is July 30, 2011.
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12. The DLD’s May 25, 2011 letter to the Petitioner included the phrase: “Eligible to early
reinstate 7/30/2011.” That this statement was included in the May 25, 2011 letter is confusing because the
May 25, 2011 letter that was mailed before the Petitioner pleaded guilty to impaired driving in the criminal
proceeding and, thus, before the Petitioner was eligible for early reinstatement of his license under Section 53-
3-223(7)(c)(i)(B).

13. The Petitioner had his driver license reinstated on August 30, 2011, after he paid all necessary
fees to do so, as required under Section 53-3-223(7)(c)(iii).

14. DLD sometimes sends out what it describes as a “no action” letter after the administrative
hearing in which it determines whether an officer had reasonable grounds to arrest a person for driving under
the influence. Respondent’s Exhibit R-5. DLD claims that it only sends out the “no action” letter when it
takes no action in administrative proceeding; i.e., when it does not “deny, suspend, revoke or disqualify” a
person’s driving privilege in the administrative proceeding. In the “no action” letter, DLD informs a person
that “the registered owner, lien holder, or the owner’s agent may be entitled to a refund of the DUI
administrative impound fee if the Driver License Division did not take action against the driver. . . .”

15. DLD did not issue a “no action” letter to the Petitioner after his May 24, 2011 administrative
hearing. Instead, DLD issued the May 25, 2011 letter to the Petitioner, in which it suspended his driver license
for 120 days.

16. Once DLD suspends a license in its administrative proceeding, it considers the license to have
been suspended even if the license is later reinstated after the criminal proceeding in accordance with Section
53-3-223(7)(c). DLD does not consider the suspension to be “negated” by the fact that the license was

reinstated after the criminal proceeding in accordance with Section 53-3-223(7)(c).
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17. The Division contends in its post-hearing Response to Commission Questions and Brief that
even if a criminal court dismisses a person’s DUI charge, that person is still not eligible for a refund of the DUI
administrative impound fee if DLD suspended that person’s license for 120 days in the separate administrative
hearing. Upon receiving notice from the criminal court that a person’s DUI charge was dismissed, DLD would
immediately reinstate that person’s suspended license in accordance with Section 53-3-223(7)(c)(i)(A).
However, DLD would not issue a “no action” letter to that person because it did suspend the person’s license
and because that person is still required to pay reinstatement fees pursuant to Section 53-3-223(7)(c)(iii).
Under such circumstances, the Division also indicates that the administrative suspension would remain on the
person’s record for 10 years and could be used as a prior conviction for enhancement of penalties in
subsequent convictions. See Division’s Response to Commission Questions and Brief, pp. 7-8, 11.

18. The Petitioner asks the Commission to refund the DUI administrative impound fee because he
did not “lose” his license after pleading guilty to a reduced charge of impaired driving and because the
Commission determined in its Initial Hearing Order that DLD did not revoke or suspend his license.

19. In the Initial Hearing Order (July 11, 2012) in this matter at p. 3, the Commission found that:

Upon review of the information provided by the parties and the applicable law in this

matter, the Division’s interpretation that the refund may be issued only when the Driver

License Division takes “no action” against the licensee is a narrower interpretation than what

is actually provided in Utah Code §41-6a-1406(6)(c). Utah Code §841-6a-1406(6)(c) does not

state the refund is allowed only if Driver License Division takes “no action.” Under that

statute the fee is refunded if “Driver License Division determined that the arrested person’s

driver license should not be suspended or revoked” and the refund request is filed within

thirty days of “the final notification from the Driver License Division.” In this case the final

action as noted in the final letter from the Driver License Division was to allow Petitioner to

retain his license, but added the alcohol restriction. Under the plain reading of the statutory

provisions this is neither a revocation nor suspension of the license (emphasis added).

20. The Division contends that the Commission did not have all of the necessary information

when it reached its decision in the Initial Hearing Order. Specifically, the Division indicates that the
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Commission did not have a copy of the May 25, 2011 letter showing that DLD first suspended the Petitioner’s
driver license effective May 31, 2011 before DLD later issued the July 21, 2013 letter.

21. Furthermore, the Division argues that the Commission’s authority to grant a waiver or refund
of the administrative impound fee is dependent on the decision of DLD on whether to suspend or revoke a
license, an action over which the Commission has no authority. For these reasons, the Division asks the
Commission to sustain its action denying the Petitioner’s request for a refund of the DUI administrative
impound fee.

APPLICABLE LAW

1. UCA §41-6a-1406 (2011)" provides for the imposition of an administrative impound fee of
$330 as a condition for the release of certain impounded vehicles and for a refund of the administrative

impound fee under certain circumstances, as follows in pertinent part:

(6) (a) The vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor shall be released after the registered owner, lien
holder, or the owner's agent:

(iv) if the impoundment was made under Section 41-6a-527, pays an administrative
impound fee of $330; and

(c) The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) shall be waived
or refunded by the State Tax Commission if the registered owner, lien holder, or owner's
agent presents written evidence to the State Tax Commission that:
(i) the Driver License Division determined that the arrested person’s driver license
should not be suspended or revoked under Section 53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as shown
by a letter or other report from the Driver License Division presented within 30 days
of the final notification from the Driver License Division; or
(ii) the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown by a copy of the
stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of the impoundment.

1 All citations are to the 2011 version of Utah law, unless otherwise indicated.
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2. UCA 8§53-3-223 provides for the Driver License Division to hold an administrative hearing
concerning a peace officer’s intention to suspend a person’s driver license and to reinstated suspended license

under certain circumstances, as follows in pertinent part:

(6) (a) Upon request in a manner specified by the division, the division shall grant to the
person an opportunity to be heard within 29 days after the date of arrest. The request to be
heard shall be made within 10 calendar days of the day on which notice is provided under
Subsection (5).

(c) The hearing shall be documented and shall cover the issues of:
(i) whether a peace officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving
a motor vehicle in violation of Section 41-6a-502 or 41-6a-517;
(ii) whether the person refused to submit to the test; and
(iii) the test results, if any.

(7) (a) If, after a hearing, the division determines that a peace officer had reasonable grounds
to believe that the person was driving a motor vehicle in violation of Section 41-6a-502 or
41-6a-517, if the person failed to appear before the division as required in the notice, or if
a hearing is not requested under this section, the division shall:

(i) if the person is 21 years of age or older at the time of arrest and the arrest was
made on or after July 1, 2009, suspend the person's license or permit to operate a
motor vehicle for a period of:
(A) 120 days beginning on the 30th day after the date of arrest for a first
suspension; or

(c) (i) Notwithstanding the provisions in Subsection (7)(a)(i)(A), the division shall
reinstate a person's license prior to completion of the 120 day suspension period imposed
under Subsection (7)(a)(i)(A):
(A) immediately upon receiving written verification of the person's dismissal of a
charge for a violation of Section 41-6a-502 or 41-6a-517, if the written
verification is received prior to completion of the suspension period; or
(B) no sooner than 60 days beginning on the 30th day after the date of arrest
upon receiving written verification of the person's reduction of a charge for a
violation of Section 41-6a-502 or 41-6a-517, if the written verification is
received prior to completion of the suspension period.
(i) Notwithstanding the provisions in Subsection (7)(a)(i)(A) or (7)(b), the division
shall reinstate a person's license prior to completion of the 120-day suspension period
imposed under Subsection (7)(a)(i)(A) immediately upon receiving written
verification of the person's conviction of impaired driving under Section 41-6a-502.5
if:
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(A) the written verification is received prior to completion of the suspension
period; and
(B) the reporting court notifies the Driver License Division that the defendant is
participating in or has successfully completed the program of a driving under the
influence court as defined in Section 41-6a-501.
(iii) If a person's license is reinstated under this Subsection (7)(c), the person is
required to pay the license reinstatement fees under Subsections 53-3-105(23) and
(24).
(iv) The driver license reinstatements authorized under this Subsection (7)(c) only
apply to a 120 day suspension period imposed under Subsection (7)(@)(i)(A).
@)....
(b) A person whose license has been suspended by the division under this section
following an administrative hearing may file a petition within 30 days after the
suspension for a hearing on the matter which, if held, is governed by Section 53-3-224.

3. UCA 841-6a-502.5 provides that a DUI violation may be entered as a conviction of impaired
driving by a criminal court of law and that such court shall notify the Driver License Division when the
violation has been reduced, as follows in pertinent part:

(1) With the agreement of the prosecutor, a plea to a class B misdemeanor violation of Section

41-6a-502 committed on or after July 1, 2008, may be entered as a conviction of impaired

driving .. ..

(5) (a) The court shall notify the Driver License Division of each conviction entered under

this section.

4. UCA 841-6a-529 provides for an alcohol restriction to be placed on a person’s driving
privilege, as follows in pertinent part:

(1) As used in this section and Section 41-6a-530, "alcohol restricted driver" means a person

who:

(a) within the last two years:

(i) has been convicted of:

(C) impaired driving under Section 41-6a-502.5;
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5. UCA 859-1-1417 (2013) provides that the burden of proof is upon the petitioner in

proceedings before the Commission, with limited exceptions as follows:

(1) Ina proceeding before the commission, the burden of proof is on the petitioner except for
determining the following, in which the burden of proof is on the commission:
(a) whether the petitioner committed fraud with intent to evade a tax, fee, or charge;
(b) whether the petitioner is obligated as the transferee of property of the person that
originally owes a liability or a preceding transferee, but not to show that the person that
originally owes a liability is obligated for the liability; and
(c) whether the petitioner is liable for an increase in a deficiency if the increase is asserted
initially after a notice of deficiency is mailed in accordance with Section 59-1-1405 and a
petition under Part 5, Petitions for Redetermination of Deficiencies, is filed, unless the
increase in the deficiency is the result of a change or correction of federal taxable income:
(i) required to be reported; and
(ii) of which the commission has no notice at the time the commission mails the
notice of deficiency.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Section 41-6a-1406(6)(c) provides that the Commission shall waive or refund an
administrative impound fee under two different circumstances. One of the circumstances, which concerns a
stolen vehicle, is not at issue in this appeal. The other circumstance, however, is at issue. Section 41-6a-
1406(6)(c)(i) provides for a waiver or refund of the fee if DLD “determined that the arrested person's driver
license should not be suspended or revoked . . . as shown by a letter or other report from [DLD] presented
within 30 days of the final notification from [DLD].” The Division contends that a person must receive a “no
action” letter from DLD and present it for a waiver or refund within 30 days of receiving it before the
Commission can grant a waiver or refund under Section 41-6a-1406(6)(c)(i). Because DLD did not issue a “no
action” letter to the Petitioner, the Division contends that the Commission must deny the Petitioner’s request
for a refund of the administrative impound fee. Under the Division’s argument, however, the Commission

would be precluded from issuing a refund even if the evidence showed that DLD did not suspend or revoke a
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person’s license and that DLD failed to issue a “no action” letter. Accordingly, the Commission will review all
of the facts to determine whether a person’s driver license was suspended or revoked and whether it is
appropriate to grant a waiver or refund.

2. The Petitioner has the burden of proof in this appeal. The Petitioner contends that he should
receive a refund of the DUI administrative impound fee because he did not “lose” his license. It is clear that
DLD suspended the taxpayer’s license effective May 31, 2011 in its administrative proceeding. Itis also clear
that after the Petitioner pleaded guilty to a reduced charge for impaired driving, Section 53-3-223(7)(c)(i)(B)
provided for his license to be reinstated on or after July 30,2011. As a result, the Petitioner did not “lose” his
license in the sense that it was revoked or in the sense that his driving privilege was suspended beyond July 30,
2011. However, to be eligible for the refund, Section 41-6a-1406(6)(c)(i) requires the Petitioner to submit
evidence to show that DLD “determined that [his] driver license should not be suspended or revoked. . ..” For
this requirement to be met, the Petitioner must show that the early reinstatement of his license pursuant to
Section 53-3-223(7)(c)(i)(B) has the effect of “negating” or “overturning” DLD’s May 25, 2011 determination
that his license should be suspended. Otherwise, DLD did determine that the Petitioner’s license should be
suspended, which would disqualify the Petitioner from receiving the refund.

3. The Petitioner does not appear to have requested reconsideration of DLD’s May 25, 2011
decision to suspend his license or to have appealed the DLD administrative decision to district court.
Accordingly, DLD’s decision to suspend the taxpayer’s license for 120 days was a final decision. The fact that
the license was reinstated before the end of the 120-day suspension does not appear to have negated or
overturned the administrative suspension. In fact, even after the Petitioner pleaded guilty to impaired driving
on June 14, 2011, his license remained suspended for a period of time as he was not eligible to have it

reinstated until July 30, 2011 at the earliest. Furthermore, the Division contends that DLD’s administrative
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suspension of the Petitioner’s driver license remains on his record for 10 years and may be used as a prior
conviction for subsequent convictions, which the Petitioner did not refute. For these reasons, it does not
appear the May 25, 2011 suspension was negated or overturned. Accordingly, the Commission should find
that DLD did suspend the Petitioner’s license, which makes him ineligible for a refund of the DUI
administrative impound fee under Section 41-6a-1406(6)(c).

4. The fact that the Commission determined that there was neither a revocation or a suspension
of the Petitioner’s license in its Initial Hearing Order in this matter does not preclude the Commission from
reaching the opposite result in its Formal Hearing decision. Once a party requests to proceed to a Formal
Hearing, the Initial Hearing Order does not become final and does not become precedent. Furthermore, the
Commission received additional information during the Formal Hearing process that allows it now to make a
better informed and reasoned decision.

5. In conclusion, the Commission should sustain the Division’s action and deny the Petitioner’s

request for a refund of the DUI administrative impound fee.

Kerry R. Chapman
Administrative Law Judge
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DECISION AND ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, the Tax Commission denies the Petitioner’s request for a refund of the DUI

administrative impound fee. It is so ordered.

DATED this day of , 2013.
R. Bruce Johnson D’ Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
Commission Chair Commissioner
Michael J. Cragun Robert P. Pero
Commissioner Commissioner

Notice of Appeal Rights: You have twenty (20) days after the date of this order to file a Request for
Reconsideration with the Tax Commission Appeals Unit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §63G-4-302. A Request
for Reconsideration must allege newly discovered evidence or a mistake of law or fact. If you do not file a
Request for Reconsideration with the Commission, this order constitutes final agency action. You have thirty
(30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order in accordance with Utah Code Ann.
§859-1-601et seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq.
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