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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

_________________________________________________________________________________ 

   

PETITIONER,  INITIAL HEARING ORDER 

  

Petitioner,  Appeal No.  11-1318 

  

v.   Account No.  ##### 

 Tax Type:  Property Tax/Centrally Assessed 

                                 Penalty Appeal 

PROPERTY TAX DIVISION OF THE   Tax Year:  2011 

UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION,    

 Judge:  Phan 

Respondent.   

__________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 

        

Appearances: 

For Petitioner:  PETITIONER REP. 

For Respondent:  RESPONDENT REP. 1Analyst, Property Tax Division 

 RESPONDENT REP. 2, Analyst, Property Tax Division 

 

 

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the 

provisions of Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5, on July 18, 2011.  Petitioner (the “Property Owner”) is appealing the 

penalty assessed pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207, for the Property Owner’s late filing of the annual 

property tax report.  

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 A person, or an officer or agent of that person, owning or operating property described in Subsection 

(1)(b) shall file with the commission, on a form prescribed by the commission, a sworn statement on or before 

March 1 of each year. (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(1)(a).)   

Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a penalty as provided in 

Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer or agent to that person, fails to file: (i) the statement required 
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under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the later of: (a) March 1; or (B) if the commission allows an extension 

under Subsection (1)(c) for filing the statement, the day after the last day of the extension period or (ii) any 

other information the commission determines to be necessary .  .   .   (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(a).) 

The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the greater of: (i)10% of the person’s 

estimated tax liability under this chapter for the current calendar year not to exceed $50,000; or (ii) $100.  

(Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(b).)  

Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may waive, reduce, or compromise a 

penalty imposed under this section if the commission finds there are reasonable grounds for the waiver, 

reduction or compromise.  (ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty under Subsections 

(3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the grounds for waiving, reducing, or compromising the 

penalty.  (Utah Code Sec. 59-2-207(3)(c).) 

DISCUSSION  

The representative for the Property Owner explained that this was the first year that she had taken over 

the responsibility of filing the return.  In years past the business had an accountant that prepared the filings. 

The representative in mistake had placed on her calendar that the return was due on March 15.  She did file the 

return on March 10, 2011.  She states she now understands the due date was March 1.  She asked for leniency.  

The Division’s representatives stated that they had looked up the account history and this was the first 

late filing in a five year period. On that basis they indicated that they could recommend that the penalty be 

waived.      

The Commission accepts Respondent’s recommendation in this matter, and will waive the penalty 

considering that it is a first time error.  The Commission cautions the Property Owner that the criteria for 

waiving a second penalty is more stringent.        

   ___________________________________ 

Jane Phan 

Administrative Law Judge 

 

 DECISION AND ORDER 

Based on the foregoing, the Commission waives the penalty assessed pursuant to Utah Code Sec. 59-2-

207.  It is so ordered 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and Order will 

become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written request 

within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be 
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mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

  

 

Utah State Tax Commission 

 Appeals Division 

 210 North 1950 West 

 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2011. 

 

 

R. Bruce Johnson    Marc B. Johnson 

Commission Chair    Commissioner 

 

 

 

 

D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun  

Commissioner     Commissioner 
     


