
11-1086 
REFUND REQUEST 
TAX YEAR: 2011 
SIGNED: 11-18-2011 
COMMISSIONERS: R. JOHNSON, M. JOHNSON, D. DIXON 
EXUCUSED: M. CRAGUN 
GUIDING DECISION 
 

 
BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER, 
 
 Petitioner, 
 
vs. 
 
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION OF THE  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, 
 
 Respondent.  
 

 
INITIAL HEARING ORDER 
 
Appeal No.    11-1086 
 
Tax Type:       DUI Administrative Fee 
Tax Year:       2011 
 
 
Judge:             Phan  
 

 
 

Presiding:  
 Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge  
 
Appearances:  
 For Petitioner:  PETITIONER 
 For Respondent:  RESPONDENT REP. 1, Assistant Attorney General 
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STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing on August 29, 

2011.  Petitioner is requesting a refund of the administrative impound fee that he had paid to obtain an 

impound release on behalf of his brother when his brother’s vehicle was impounded following an arrest of 

the driver for driving under the influence.   

APPLICABLE LAW 

 A refund of the DUI administrative fee shall be granted under Utah Code §41-6a-1406(6)(c), as 

follows: 

The administrative impound fee assessed under Subsection (6)(a)(iv) shall be waived or 
refunded by the State Tax Commission if the registered owner, lien holder, or owner’s 
agent presents written evidence to the State Tax Commission that: 

(i) the Driver License Division determined that the arrested person’s driver license 
should not be suspended or revoked under Section 53-3-223 or 41-6a-521 as 
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shown by a letter or other report from the Driver License Division presented 
within 30 days of the final notification from the Driver License Division; or 

(ii)  the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown by a copy of the 
stolen vehicle report presented within 30 days of the impoundment. 

 
Utah Code Ann. §59-1-1417 provides, “[i]n a proceeding before the commission, the 

burden of proof is on the petitioner…” 

 DISCUSSION 

 Petitioner requests the refund on the basis that the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impound.  

He explained that the vehicle belonged to his brother, PETITIONER’S SIBLING. The vehicle was not 

being used, it was not insured and it was locked and tarped down at his brother’s business inside a gated 

and locked area. PETITIONER had kept the keys to the vehicle somewhere at the business which 

provided equipment rentals. The vehicle was kept with other (  EQUIPMENT  ) inside the locked gate. 

PETITIONER’S SIBLING had left Utah in September 2010 to work in STATE 1 for a period of time.  

 EMPLOYEE occasionally worked for PETITIONER and PETITIONER had left keys for the gate 

to the locked yard with EMPLOYEE so that he could water plants on the property. Petitioner represented 

that he never gave EMPLOYEE keys to the vehicle, they were just to the gate. While PETITIONER was 

in STATE 1 he received a telephone call from a customer who was returning (  EQUIPMENT  ) to the 

yard and had noticed that the tarped car was missing.  After learning of this, PETITIONER made a 

telephone call to the police to report a stolen vehicle. The CITY 1 Police Department Crime Report, 

which was submitted in this matter shows the first call to the police was made on October 20, 2010. The 

Crime Report indicates that the Officer first asked PETITIONER if “he had any idea who might have 

taken his vehicle and he said he thought it was EMPLOYEE.” Then, according to the report, the Police 

Officer told PETITIONER that the vehicle had been impounded on October 4, 2010, upon the arrest of 

the driver, EMPLOYEE, for a DUI.  However, apparently on the same day as he had filed the report, 

PETITIONER called the Police Officer back and stated that he no longer wanted to pursue charges. The 

report states, “he no longer wanted to pursue charges, I made sure PETITIONER’S SIBLING did not 

want to pursue charges, PETITIONER’S SIBLING said he did not.” The disposition listed on the report 

was “prosecution declined.” 

 Once PETITIONER learned that the vehicle was impounded he asked Petitioner to obtain the 

release and get the vehicle out of impound because he was still in STATE 1 and charges increased every 
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day it was left in the impound lot. Petitioner was the one who paid the impound fee to obtain the release 

for the vehicle. 

 Petitioner provided at the hearing a copy of a “CITY 1 City Police Department Witness 

Statement, dated August 26, 2011, which indicated that it was an addendum to the earlier Crime Report. 

This statement, which was signed by PETITIONER, stated, “After filing a valid stolen vehicle report, 

PETITIONER was informed by CITY 1 police of the suspect’s identity. Since the suspect was known to 

PETITIONER, he asked the police to postpone its pursuit of criminal charges while he pursued a 

reimbursement of vehicle recovery expense from the suspect.” 

 At the hearing, the Division explained that it denied the refund of the impound fee because the 

stolen vehicle report was withdrawn as the owner chose not to press charges. It was the Division’s 

contention that even though the theft was initially reported, because he did not pursue charges against the 

driver the report did not support that it was a stolen vehicle under Utah Code §41-6a-1406(6)(c)(ii). The 

Division indicated that if the Commission issued refunds in situations where a report is filed but then 

charges are not pursued it might encourage more people to file theft reports with the police to obtain the 

refund, when they had no intent to pursue the charges.   

 Utah Code §41-6a-1406(6)(c)(ii) provides that the Division issue a refund of the $$$$$ 

administrative impound fee if “the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment as shown by a copy 

of the stolen vehicle report.”  The issue in this matter is really whether the Crime Report shows that the 

vehicle was stolen at the time of the impound. The vehicle was actually impounded on October 4, 2010 

and not reported missing until October 20, 2010.  However, the Crime Report does show that 

PETITIONER had originally contacted the police to report a vehicle theft and had stated that the vehicle 

was stolen from his place of business. It also indicated in the report that PETITIONER suspected that it 

was EMPLOYEE who had taken the vehicle and regardless reported it as a theft. Upon review of the 

Crime Report, it does on its face support that the vehicle was stolen at the time of the impoundment. 

There is nothing in Utah Code §41-6a-1406(6)(c)(ii) that requires the victim to pursue charges. The 

refund should be issued to Petitioner.     

 
    _________________________ 
    Jane Phan 

       Administrative Law Judge 

DECISION AND ORDER 
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Based on the foregoing, the Commission grants Taxpayer’s request for a refund of the $$$$$ 

administrative impound fee.  It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a 

written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a 

request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and 

appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this ___________day of  __________________, 2011. 
 

 

R. Bruce Johnson    Marc B. Johnson 
Commission Chair    Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli    Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner                            Commissioner 

  

 
 
 


