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 STATEMENT OF CASE 

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Commission upon a request, filed by Petitioners (the 

Taxpayers) on July 24, 2011, in which the Taxpayers ask for additional time to review the Tax Commission’s 

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Final Decision, issued June 21, 2011, (“Final Decision”) and an 

extension to file a notice of appeal or a request for reconsideration. The Taxpayers had submitted this request 

for extension after the 20 day period to file a request for reconsideration had expired.     

 APPLICABLE LAW 

Utah Code Sec. 63G-4-302 provides that a party may, within 20 days after the date an order 

constituting final agency action has been issued, file a written request for reconsideration.  

Utah Administrative Rule R861-1A-29 provides that within 20 days a party may file a written request 

for reconsideration "alleging a mistake of law or fact, or the discovery of new evidence."   

 DISCUSSION 

In the request the Taxpayer explained the reason for the late filing was that they were out of the state 

until July 20, 2011. She wrote in the request, “I arrived home on 07-20-2011 to find a letter from 

Administrative Law Judge Jane Phan and the decision and order dated 07-21-11.”1 She asked due to the time 

limitation for an extension to file a request for reconsideration as well as a notice of appeal.   

DECISION AND ORDER 
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The 20 day period to file a request for reconsideration is set by statute.  The Taxpayers’ request for an 

extension to file was submitted after the deadline had already expired. The Commission does not have  

authority to extend the deadline to file a request for reconsideration. The Taxpayer also asked for an extension 

to file a notice of appeal. If the Taxpayers disagreed with the final decision they could have pursued judicial 

review in accordance with Utah Code 59-1-601 et.seq. and 63G-4-401 et seq. However, to do so they must file 

in either the District Court or the Utah Supreme Court and it is up to the respective courts to determine whether 

or not it would grant an extension.  

Based upon the foregoing, it is the decision and order of the Utah State Tax Commission that the 

request for extension to file a request for reconsideration is denied because of the Taxpayers’ failure to file the 

request within the 20 day statutory deadline. It is so ordered. 

                                                                               
1 This appears to be a misstatement as the Final Decision was mailed and dated June 21, 2011. 

DATED this _____ day of ____________, 2011. 
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Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
 
 
D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli   Michael J. Cragun 
Commissioner    Commissioner  
 
 
NOTICE:  You have thirty (30) days after the date of this order to pursue judicial review of this order 
pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §§59-1-601 et seq. and 63G-4-302 et seq. 
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