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BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 

 
 
PETITIONER 1 & PETITIONER 2, 
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v. 
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ORDER  

 
Appeal No.  07-0627 
 
Account No. ##### 
Tax Type:     Income Tax/Penalty & Interest 
Tax Year:      2005  
 
 
Judge:  Phan  
 

 
  
Presiding: 

Jane Phan, Administrative Law Judge 
 

Appearances: 
For Petitioner: PETITIONER 1 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE, Waiver Unit, Tax Compliance Agent 
  

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions of 

Utah Code Sec. 59-1-502.5 on August 13, 2007.  Petitioner is appealing an extension penalty and interest 

assessed with his 2005 Utah individual income tax filing.   The penalties at issue totaled $$$$$.   Interest was 

assessed and continued to accrue until the balance was paid.     

 APPLICABLE LAW 

 The penalty for failure to file a tax return within the time prescribed by law including 

extensions is the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax due on the return.  (b) This Subsection (1) does not 

apply to amended returns.  Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401(1). 

The penalty for failure to pay tax due shall be the greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax for 

(a) failure to pay any tax, as reported on a timely filed return; (b) failure to pay any tax within 90 days of the 
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due date of the return, if there was a late filed return subject to the penalty provided under Subsection (1)(a).  

Utah Code Sec. 59-1-401(2). 

Interest on any underpayment, deficiency, or delinquency of any tax or fee administered by the 

commission shall be computed from the time the original return is due, excluding any filing or payment 

extensions, to the date the payment is received. Utah Code Sec. 59-1-402 (5). 

Upon making a record of its actions, and upon reasonable cause shown the commission may 

waive, reduce or compromise any of the penalties or interest imposed under this part. Utah Code Sec. 59-1-

401(11). 

 DISCUSSION 

 Petitioner asked that the penalties or interest be waived.  He explained that there were several 

circumstances that led to the late filing and payment.  There had been a death in the family that required 

Petitioner to travel out of the country, and some illness with family members.  However, the main issue was 

that the Utah tax liability for 2005 was higher than it had been for any prior year.  Petitioners owed tax to Utah 

for 2005 in the amount of $$$$$.  Petitioner had only $$$$$ of withholding for that year.  When the tax 

amount was calculated during the extension period, Petitioner filed the return and entered into a monthly 

payment agreement to pay $$$$$ per month until the balance was paid, which would have taken two years.  

Petitioner indicates that while making payments, he talked to a Tax Commission employee and Petitioner states 

the employee told him if he paid the balance more quickly than indicated in the payment plan, there would be 

good chance of waiver of penalties or interested.  Based on this Petitioner borrowed money and paid the 

remaining amount owed by March of 2007.      

Petitioner did not understand he was required to make a prepayment by April 15.  He states his 

2005 return was prepared by an accountant and the accountant had not told him about the prepayment 
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requirement.  Additionally he indicated if he had been assessed a prepayment penalty in a prior year he was 

unaware what it was for, and just paid the penalty.     

Respondent’s representative pointed out that there had been an extension penalty of $$$$$, 

because Petitioner had not made a prepayment of 100% of the prior years tax or at least 90% of the 2005 tax by 

April 15, 2006.  She stated, however, that the prior years tax had been only $$$$$ and the subject year was the 

largest tax liability that Petitioner had incurred on his account history.  There had been $$$$$ of withholding, 

so if Petitioner had made a prepayment of only $$$$$ by April 15, 2006, the prepayment penalty would not 

have been assessed.  It was Respondent’s contention that the prepayment penalty of $$$$$ was excessive in 

relation to the tax amount that Petitioner could have paid to avoid the penalty.  The penalty had not initially 

been waived because there had also been a much smaller prepayment penalty in 2002.  Respondent’s 

representative asked that the Commission consider the amount of the penalty in relation to the tax prepayment 

that should have been made. 

Interest accrues from the time the tax was due, which in this case was April 15, 2006, until the 

balance is paid.  Interest is assessed when taxes are not paid or are underpaid to compensate the state for the 

time value of money.  Interest is generally waived only in the event the Tax Commission, or Tax Commission 

employee error gave rise to the late payment or underpayment.  There was no basis for waiver of interest.    

DECISION AND ORDER 

The Commission would note from what Petitioner reported of his conversation with a Tax 

Commission employee regarding early payment and waiver, there may have been a misunderstanding.  

However, Petitioners could not have requested waiver of the penalties until they had paid an amount equal to 

the tax portion.  Once that occurred the Commission would apply the reasonable cause criteria to determine 

waiver.  Inability to pay is not basis for waiver of the penalty in the administrative appeal process.  However, in 
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this case the penalty is excessive compared to the tax amount of $$$$$ that Petitioner should have paid on 

April 15 to avoid the penalty.  For this reason, and considering there had been only the one prior error, the 

Commission finds that sufficient cause has been shown to justify a waiver of the penalties associated with 

Petitioner’s individual income tax for tax year 2005.   No cause has been shown for waiver of the interest.   It is 

so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing.  However, this Decision and 

Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the Commission unless any party to this case files a written 

request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall 

be mailed to the address listed below and must include the Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further appeal rights in this matter. 

DATED this __________ day of ______________________, 2007. 

 
____________________________________ 
Jane Phan 
Administrative Law Judge 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION: 
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The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this ________ day of _________________________, 2007. 

 

Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
 
 
 
Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
 
NOTICE: Failure to pay the balance due as a result of this order within thirty days from the date hereon may 
result in an additional penalty.  
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