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 BEFORE THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION 
 ____________________________________ 
 
PETITIONER, )   ORDER   

 ) 
Petitioner, ) Appeal No. 07-0578 

)  
v.  ) Account No. ##### 

) Tax Year 2007 
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION, ) Tax Type:   Centrally Assessed/Property Tax  
UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION, )  Penalty 
  )  

Respondent. ) Judge: Chapman 
 _____________________________________ 
 

This Order may contain confidential "commercial information" within the meaning of Utah Code Sec. 
59-1-404, and is subject to disclosure restrictions as set out in that section and regulation pursuant to 
Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37.  The rule prohibits the parties from disclosing commercial information 
obtained from the opposing party to nonparties, outside of the hearing process.  However, pursuant to 
Utah Admin. Rule R861-1A-37, the Tax Commission may publish this decision, in its entirety, unless the 
property taxpayer responds in writing to the Commission, within 30 days of this notice, specifying the 
commercial information that the taxpayer wants protected.  The taxpayer must mail the response to the 
address listed near the end of this decision. 
 
Presiding: 
 Kerry R. Chapman, Administrative Law Judge  
 
Appearances: 

For Petitioner: PETITIONER REPRESENTATIVE (by telephone) 
For Respondent: RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 1, from Property Tax Division 

          RESPONDENT REPRESENTATIVE 2, from Property tax Division    

 STATEMENT OF THE CASE 

This matter came before the Tax Commission for an Initial Hearing pursuant to the provisions 

of Utah Code Ann. §59-1-502.5, on June 19, 2007.  The Petitioner is appealing the $$$$$ penalty that the 

Division assessed pursuant to Utah Code Ann. §59-2-207, for late filing of the 2007 annual property tax report. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

Pursuant to Utah Admin. Code §59-2-207(1)(a), a centrally assessed taxpayer shall, on or 

before March 1 of each year, file with the Division a statement: 
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(i) showing in detail all real property and tangible personal property located in the 
state that the person owns or operates; and  
(ii) containing any other information the commission requires.   

 

Pursuant to Subsection 59-2-207(1)(c), extensions to the March 1 filing deadline are allowed, 

as follows:  

(c) (i) The commission may allow an extension for filing the statement under 
Subsection (1)(a) for a time period not exceeding 30 days, unless the commission 
determines that extraordinary circumstances require a longer period of extension.   
     (ii) The commission shall grant a person, or an officer or agent of that person, an 
extension for filing the statement under Subsection (1)(a) for a time period not 
exceeding 15 days if:   
             (A) a federal regulatory agency requires the taxpayer to file a statement that 
contains the same information as the statement under Subsection (1)(a); and  
             (B) the person, or an officer or agent of that person, requests the commission 
to grant the extension.   

For a taxpayer that does not file its statement within the statutory timeframe, a penalty is 

imposed pursuant to Subsection 59-2-207(3), as follows: 

(3)(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(c), the commission shall assess a person a 
penalty as provided in Subsection (3)(b), if the person, or an officer or agent of that 
person, fails to file:  

(i) the statement required under Subsection (1)(a) on or before the later of:  
                  (A) March 1; or  

(B) if the commission allows an extension under Subsection (1)(c) for 
filing the statement, the day after the last day of the extension period; or  

(ii) any other information the commission determines to be necessary to:  
                  (A) establish valuations for assessment purposes; or  
                  (B) apportion an assessment.   
    (b) The penalty described in Subsection (3)(a) is an amount equal to the greater of:  

 (i) 10% of the person's estimated tax liability under this chapter for the 
current calendar year not to exceed $50,000; or   

              (ii) $100.   
    (c)   (i) Notwithstanding Subsections (3)(a) and (4), the commission may               
waive, reduce, or compromise a penalty imposed under this section if the commission 
finds there are reasonable grounds for the waiver, reduction, or compromise.   
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(ii) If the commission waives, reduces, or compromises a penalty under 
Subsection (3)(c)(i), the commission shall make a record of the grounds for 
waiving, reducing, or compromising the penalty.   

 
 
 

DISCUSSION 

The Petitioner proffers that the 2007 tax year is its first year of operations.  It also proffers that 

it attempted to have its annual report postmarked for delivery to the Division on March 1, 2007, but arrived at 

the FedEx office several minutes past the deadline.  As a result, the Petitioner’s annual report was postmarked 

on March 2, 2007.  Section 59-2-207 requires a taxpayer to file its annual report with the Division on or before 

March 1, 2007, which did not occur.  Nor is there any evidence that the taxpayer requested or received an 

extension to the March 1st deadline, as permitted under Subsection 59-2-207(1)(c).  For these reasons, the 

Commission finds that the Division properly imposed the $$$$$ penalty pursuant to Section 59-2-207(3). 

The Petitioner, however, asks the Commission to waive the penalty.  The Commission is 

authorized to waive, reduce, or compromise the penalty upon a finding of reasonable grounds.  The Division 

states that it would not object to the Commission waiving the penalty under the circumstances.  Because the 

2007 tax year is the first year that the Petitioner was required to submit an annual report to the Division, the 

Commission finds that reasonable grounds exist to waive the penalty.   

 DECISION AND ORDER 

After reviewing the circumstances in this matter, the Commission finds reasonable grounds to 

waive the $$$$$ penalty at issue.   It is so ordered. 

This decision does not limit a party's right to a Formal Hearing or the right of an affected 

county to show cause pursuant to section 59-2-1007 why the Commission should not adjust the values in 

accordance with this order.  However, this Decision and Order will become the Final Decision and Order of the 
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Commission unless an affected party files a written request within thirty (30) days of the date of this decision to 

proceed to a Formal Hearing.  Such a request shall be mailed to the address listed below and must include the 

Petitioner's name, address, and appeal number: 

 Utah State Tax Commission 
 Appeals Division 
 210 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah  84134 

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will preclude any further administrative appeal rights in 

this matter.  In that event, the Property Tax Division is ordered to adjust its records in accordance with this 

order.  The Property Tax Division is also ordered to calculate the final adjustments to the values apportioned to 

tax districts as a result of this order and to deliver that information to the affected counties on behalf of the 

Commission.  The auditors of the affected counties are ordered to use the information so provided to adjust 

their tax roles in accordance with this order. 

DATED this ___________ day of ________________________, 2007. 
 
 
 
   ______________________________________ 
   Kerry R. Chapman 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 

BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION. 

The Commission has reviewed this case and the undersigned concur in this decision. 

DATED this _________ day of ________________________, 2007. 

 
 
 
Pam Hendrickson   R. Bruce Johnson 
Commission Chair   Commissioner 
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Marc B. Johnson   D’Arcy Dixon Pignanelli 
Commissioner    Commissioner 
KRC/05-0756.int 


