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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This matter came before the Utah State Tax Comomidsi an Initial Hearing pursuant to the
provisions of Utah Code An®9-1-502.5, on June 15, 2005. The issue beforgdleCommission in the
Initial Hearing concerns the Tax Commission susjpenef Petitioner's Cigarette License for a periafd
thirty-days, specifically the issue was whetherghgpension should be for the full thirty-day pero some
lesser period.

APPLICABLE LAW

The law provides for penalties and suspensiorseiting cigarettes to persons under 19 as set

out at Utah Code Sec. 26-42-103 as follows:
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(2) If, following an investigation or issuance otiation or information
under Section 77-39-101, an enforcing agency déieswnder Section 26-
42-104 that a licensee or any employee has softtaito a person younger
than 19 years of age, as prohibited by Section Of&a4, the enforcing
agency may impose upon the licensee the followdimgjaistrative penalties:
(a) upon the first violation, a penalty of not mahan $300; (b) upon a
second violation at the same retail location, aidiv12 months of the first
violation, a penalty of not more than $750; and §popn a third or
subsequent violation at the same retail locatiahveithin 12 months of the
first violation, a penalty of not more than $1,000.

(2) The enforcing agency shall notify the commissiowriting of any order
or order of default finding a violation of Subsecti(10 which is a third or
fourth violation.

(3) The commission, upon receipt of the written ifiwation under
Subsection (2), shall take action under Sectiod4$203.5 or 59-14-301.5
against the license to sell tobacco; (a) by suspgritie licensee’s license to
sell tobacco at the location for not more than a@sg upon receipt of
notification of a third violation under Subsectidn(c); and (b) by revoking
the license to sell tobacco at that location hglthe licensee, including any
license under suspension, upon receipt of notifinadf a fourth violation
under Subsection (1)(c). (Utah Code Sec. 26-42}103

The state and local health departments are ddsij@s the entities with the authority to
enforce these provisions as provided at Utah Cede 35-42-104 as follows:

The state Department of Health and the local heddtbartments shall
enforce this chapter under the procedures of Tale Chapter 46b,
Administrative Procedures Act, as an informal adjative proceeding,
including: (1) notifying the licensees of allegadlations of Section 26-42-
103; (2) conducting hearings; (3) determining Wiolas of this chapter; and
(4) imposing civil monetary administrative penadti€Utah Code Sec. 26-
42-104.)

The Tax Commission is designated as the agenggmsible to suspend or revoke a license to
sell tobacco products as follows:

(1)(@) The commission shall suspend or revoke $esro sell tobacco, as
required under Section 26-42-103 regarding suspeios revocation of a
licenses due to the sale of cigarettes to a pgrsonger than 19 years of
age, upon receipt of notice of an enforcing agenfigdings of a violation
of section 26-42-103. (b) The commission shalv/gi®written notice of the
suspension or revocation to the licensee.
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(2) It is the duty of the enforcing agency to advilse commission of any

finding of a violation of Section 26-42-103 for whi suspension or

revocation of the license is a penalty.

(3) When the commission revokes a licensee’s lie@msler this section the
commission may not issue to the license, or tdtisiness entity using the
license that is revoked, a license under Sectioh4b202 or 59-14-301 to

sell tobacco at the location for which the licewss issued for one year after
the date of the violation for which the license wagked. (Utah Code Sec.
59-14-203.5.)

DECISION AND ORDER

This appeal presents a matter of first impressifore the State Tax Commissioners. It is
unigue in that the Utah Legislature has determioedivide enforcement provisions in the area ofirsgl
cigarettes to minors between the State Tax Comomisand State or Local Health Departments. The
legislature was very specific that it was the He&lepartments that should hold a hearing and determ
whether or not a retailer was in violation of Utabde Sec. 26-42-103 by selling cigarettes to a menad
whether the violation was a third violation. Orddealth Department has made a determination tieédiser
has had a third violation in one year, the lanestéte Health Department must inform the Tax Corsianis
The applicable statutes, Utah Code Secs. 26-42ah@359-14-203.5, state that the upon receipt df suc
notification the Tax Commission must suspend ttenise for not more thahirty-days. The task implied but
not explicitly assigned to the Tax Commission oalteDepartment is who should determine the nuraber
days up to thirty and upon what criteria this diecisshould be based. It is the issue of the leofitne
suspension that is before the Tax Commission srfdtter.

The facts were not substantially in dispute. et#tr operates a convenience store. Petitioner
was cited for selling cigarettes to a minor on Miat¢ 2005. The AREA Health Department convened a
hearing pursuant to Utah Code Sec 26-42-104 lakdairch 2005, at which a hearing officer receivee th
evidence and testimony offered by the parties. Adwring officer issued a Findings of Fact and ©ate

April 4, 2005, (“Health Department Order”) finditigat Petitioner was in violation of Utah Code S¥&:42-
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103 and that it was, in fact, a third violationhe€THealth Department Order did specify that Petdiavas to
pay the fine indicated for a third violation. Ttweler also stated as follows: “The AREA Health Drépant
will notify the Utah State Tax Commission of thisi@ings of Fact as required by section 26-42-108¢2ah
Code Ann., 1953 as amended.” The Health Depart@ester was silent on the issue of a suspension.

Petitioner could have requested a department apptad Health Department Order if done
so within ten days from the date of the order agiitiBner’'s representative indicated they did rextduse of
erroneous information given to them by an emplafebe Health Department. Petitioner's represérdat
indicated that they were aware there was a posgibilsuspension and that was the issue thatthdyried to
address at the Health Department hearing.

As the Health Department Order was silent on ggate, they went to the Health Department
and asked if their license would be suspendedy ifukcate that the clerk looked through previotdeos on
cases where a third violation had been found. Teeprt that the clerk told them all the other osde
specifically stated the license would be susperaaedwvere dissimilar to Petitioner’s order for treison. It
was Petitioner’s representatives understanding fh@onversation that their license would notuspsended.

They indicate this was the reason they did natestjan appeal. To support this contention, poidhis
Initial Hearing before the Tax Commission, they hegluested from the AREA Health Department copies o
the last twelve orders that had dealt with a thiadation. The AREA Health Department providedhdig
orders issued in 2001 or 2002. It was Petitiongosition that these were the only orders invohariyird
violation issued prior to their own. All of thehar orders specifically stated that the license ld/dne
suspended and were dissimilar in this respectadtbalth Department Order. However, some said the
suspension would be for thirty days and some gaitb whirty days.

As required by statute the AREA Health Department a letter to the State Tax Commission

dated April 13, 2005, notifying the Tax Commissifnthe third violation. The letter, issued by game
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hearing officer who had issued the Health Departn@der, stated, “Based on the foregoing, the Healt
Department hereby gives notice to the Tax Commissiothe third violation within twelve months and
requests that the Licensee’s license to sell tabactobacco products be suspended for a perindtahore
than thirty (30) days as provided for in Sectiord26103(3), Utah Code Ann. 1953 as amended.”

Respondent issued on April 19, 2005, a Notice gaf&itte/Tobacco License Suspension. The
notice indicated that the suspension would be fperod of thirty-days. Respondent’s representgsativ
explained that since July 2002, Respondent hastiemvpolicy concerning the length of suspensidine
policy states, “The suspension shall be for théogestated in the order. If the order fails taeta specific
period the suspension will be for the full 30 daj)ewed by statute.” Respondent indicates thatithdone
for reasons of uniformity. In Petitioner’s situatj as the length of suspension had not been kbl the
Health Department, Respondent followed its polisgt applied the term of thirty days.

Respondent’s representative argues that the Heefihrtment has been designated by statute
as the finder of fact in this matter. Hearing affis for the Health Department hear evidence ofitilation
and any mitigating circumstances. If a Health Depant recommended something less than thirty-daysd
on the evidence before it, the Commission shouwld tie decision deference. Respondent indicast ghis
has occasionally occurred with the some of theouariocal Health Departments. Respondent’s reptatbee
points out if it was left to the Tax Commissiomtake a decision as to the number of days up tty fioir the
suspension the Tax Commission would have to hbkbaing, receive evidence and testimony and eafignti
many of the same issues would be litigated betoeeTax Commission as were litigated before the tHeal
Department.

Petitioner’s representatives also argues that tradthl Department was the one who was the
finder of fact and the hearing officer who had ldetiie evidence and testimony should be the onengaki

determination as to the length of the suspensiBetitioner’s representatives had contacted thethleal
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Department and tried to reopen the appeal but bad twld there was no further action that woulthken by
the Health Department.

The Commission must follow the statute as writtdine law states the license would be
suspended “for not more than 30 days.” (Utah Csede. 26-42-103.) The Utah Legislature could have
eliminated the issue in the appeal at hand simphtéting the license would be suspended for 38.d@e
fact that the Legislature chose the phrase itdidanly be interpreted to means that the suspensgrbe for
a period of less than thirty days.

It is also clear that the Health Department wasrided to be the finder of fact. The Health
Department duties in pertinent part are specified“é2) conducting hearings; (3) determining vimas of
this chapter; and (4) imposing civil monetary adstiative penalties.” (Utah Code Sec. 26-42-104¢ Tax
Commission’s duties are to “suspend” and “providiten notice of the suspension.” (Utah Code S@el4
203.5.) Therefore, the only interpretation frora tombination of the statutes is that any mattgrtbeded to
be decided based on the facts at a hearing sheuddided by the Health Department. It follows thaould
be appropriate for a Health Department to considgmitigating factors and make a specific findisdo the
length of the suspension in their orders. Forritiolations concerning the sale of cigarettetobacco
products to a minor, the Tax Commission would enage the various Health Departments to make afgpeci
finding as to the length of the suspension in theders. The matter of the length of the susparsiould not
be left to the Tax Commission to make without béméhearing the evidence, testimony and argurimethie
matter. If left to the Tax Commission it is appriage to apply a written policy that specified arsember of
days in all cases.

In the appeal before the Tax Commission, not oiwytlte Health Department fail to make a
specific finding as to the length of time for thespension, the Health Department Order faileddicate a

suspension should be imposed. This was dissimdlaprior orders to the extent that Petitioner's
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representatives and allegedly a Health Departnmaptay/ee misunderstood the resulting effect of tiien
The subsequent letter from the Hearing Officeriditicate a suspension should be imposed, butnibis
consistent with the actual order issued. In addjtthe Health Department failed to consider reopmeor
giving further review to its decision, even thoWRgtitioner had alleged it had relied on erroneduia from
the Health Department when deciding whether toestjuagency review of the Health Department Order.
These raise questions concerning whether Petitissasr provided sufficient due process in this matter
Based on the specific factors and circumstanctgsrappeal, the Commission finds that the
ten-day suspension Petitioner has already senaeslifficient length of suspension in this matiRespondent
is ordered to reinstate Petitioner’s licenses ka ordered.
This decision does not limit a party's right tocarRal Hearing. However, this Decision and
Order will become the Final Decision and Ordethef Commission unless any party to this case filasteen
request within thirty (30) days of the date of ttiéxision to proceed to a Formal Hearing. Suelgaest shall
be mailed to the address listed below and mustidecthe Petitioner's name, address, and appealetumb
Utah State Tax Commission
Appeals Division
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134

Failure to request a Formal Hearing will precludg further appeal rights in this matter.

DATED this day of , 2005.

Jane Phan
Administrative Law Judge
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BY ORDER OF THE UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION.

The Commission has reviewed this case and the sigded concur in this decision.

DATED this day of , 2005.
Pam Hendrickson R. Bruce Johnson
Commission Chair Commissioner
Palmer DePaulis Marc B. Johnson
Commissioner Commissioner
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