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Effective Date: July 1, 2016

Re:  Sales Tax Rate Changes

Provo Imposes Botanical, Cultural, Recreational and Zoological Tax
Utah Code §59-12-1402 allows a city or town to impose a botanical, cultural, recreation-
al and zoological organizations or facilities tax of .10 percent on taxable sales.

Provo (Utah County) will impose the botanical, cultural, recreational and zoological tax 
at .10 percent. The new combined sales and use tax rate in Provo will be 6.85 percent.

Naples Imposes City or Town Option Sales and Use Tax
Utah Code §59-12-2103 allows a city or town option sales and use tax of up to .20 
percent.

Naples (Uintah County) will impose this city or town option sales and use tax citywide at 
.20 percent. The new combined sales and use tax rate in Naples will be 6.55 percent.

Counties Impose County Option Sales and Use Tax to Fund Highways 
and Public Transit
Utah Code §§59-12-2203 & 2219 allow a county option sales and use tax of .25 percent 
to fund highways and public transit.

Tooele County and Sanpete County will impose this highways and public transit tax 
county-wide at .25 percent.

The .25 percent increase will raise the combined sales tax rate in all locations within 
these counties. Get the tax rate for each location on our website at tax.utah.gov/sales.

Report these taxes on your Sales and Use Tax Return starting with the following peri-
ods:

• July 2016 (monthly fi lers)

• July-Sept 2016 (quarterly fi lers)

• Jan-Dec 2016 (annual fi lers)

Randolph Prawitt
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Changes in Utah laws or Tax Commission rules may supersede this Tax Bulletin. For 
the most current state and local tax information, including local sales tax rates, visit 

tax.utah.gov.


